Merton Council Council Special Meeting

Membership

The Mayor: Councillor Mary Curtin

The Deputy Mayor: Councillor Geraldine Stanford

Councillors: Agatha Mary Akyigyina OBE, Stephen Alambritis, Mark Allison, Stan Anderson, Laxmi Attawar, Eloise Bailey, Thomas Barlow, Nigel Benbow, Hina Bokhari, Kelly Braund, Mike Brunt, Adam Bush, Omar Bush, Ben Butler, Tobin Byers, Billy Christie, David Chung, Caroline Cooper-Marbiah, Pauline Cowper, Stephen Crowe, David Dean, John Dehaney, Nick Draper, Anthony Fairclough, Edward Foley, Brenda Fraser, Edward Gretton, Joan Henry, Daniel Holden, James Holmes, Andrew Howard, Janice Howard, Natasha Irons, Mark Kenny, Sally Kenny, Linda Kirby, Paul Kohler, Rebecca Lanning, Najeeb Latif, Edith Macauley MBE, Russell Makin, Peter McCabe, Simon McGrath, Nick McLean, Oonagh Moulton, Aidan Mundy, Hayley Ormrod, Dennis Pearce, Owen Pritchard, Carl Quilliam, David Simpson CBE, Marsie Skeete, Peter Southgate, Eleanor Stringer, Dave Ward, Martin Whelton, Dickie Wilkinson and David Williams

- Date: Thursday 12 July 2018
- Time: 7.15 pm

Venue: Council chamber - Merton Civic Centre, London Road, Morden SM4 5DX

This is a public meeting and attendance by the public is encouraged and welcomed. Please note that a large proportion of the seats available in the public gallery will be reserved for those being presented with awards and their guests. There will be a small number of seats available for the public on a first come, first served basis. For more information about the agenda please contact

democratic.services@merton.gov.uk or telephone 020 8545 3616.

All Press contacts: press@merton.gov.uk, 020 8545 3181

Council Special Meeting meeting 12 July 2018

- 1 Apologies for absence
- 2 Declarations of Pecuniary Interest
- 3 Freedom of the Borough HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH

Council is recommended to agree to present the person named below with a certificate conferring upon them the title of Honorary Freeman of the Borough affixed with the common seal of the Council.

The motion to be duly moved and seconded is:

That, by virtue of the power vested in it by Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council does admit Philip Jones as Freeman of the London Borough of Merton.

This honour is bestowed on Philip Jones in recognition of the substantial contribution he made to the Borough as a Councillor for the Ravensbury ward in over 39 cumulative years of service, since his election to the Council in 1971, including serving as Deputy Mayor in the municipal year 2007/2008; and his extensive civic service.

In particular, Philip was an active member of the local community, chairing the Morden Community Forum, as well as being a member of the Environment Committee and of the Planning Committee, with 10 years as chair of the latter. He also served as a School Governor for Malmesbury School in his ward and was a Trustee of the Merton and Morden Guild of Social Services, championing the improvement of local health and social care facilities for the residents of Merton and was instrumental in the building of the medical centre on Morden Road. Philip has been a lifelong resident of Morden and a dedicated former employee of the trade union then called NALGO and now known as UNISON.

<u>Note by Chief Executive:</u> Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 requires a resolution conferring the title of Honorary Alderman to be passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon.

4 Honorary Aldermen

Council is recommended to agree to present former Councillors John Bowcott, Andrew Judge, Gilli Lewis-Lavender, Ian Munn and Judy Saunders respectively with a certificate conferring on them the title of Honorary Alderman duly affixed with the common seal of the Council.

The motions to be moved and seconded are:

- 'That former Councillor John Bowcott is conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman of the London Borough of Merton in recognition of his loyal and distinguished service to the Council over many years.'
- 'That former Councillor Andrew Judge is conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman of the London Borough of Merton in recognition of his loyal and distinguished service to the Council over many years.'
- 3) 'That former Councillor Gilli Lewis-Lavender is conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman of the London Borough of Merton in recognition of her loyal and distinguished service to the Council over many years.'
- 4) 'That former Councillor Ian Munn is conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman of the London Borough of Merton in recognition of his loyal and distinguished service to the Council over many years.'
- 5) 'That former Councillor Judy Saunders is conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman of the London Borough of Merton in recognition of her loyal and distinguished service to the Council over many years.'

<u>Note by Chief Executive:</u> Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 requires a resolution conferring the title of Honorary Alderman/woman to be passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon.

5 Vote of Thanks to Former Councillors

1 - 4

Note on declarations of interest

Members are advised to declare any Disclosable Pecuniary Interest in any matter to be considered at the meeting. If a pecuniary interest is declared they should withdraw from the meeting room during the whole of the consideration of that mater and must not participate in any vote on that matter. If members consider they should not participate because of a non-pecuniary interest which may give rise to a perception of bias, they should declare this, .withdraw and not participate in consideration of the item. For further advice please speak with the Assistant Director of Corporate Governance.